Tuesday 8 September 2015

Review of Future Talk - The Path That Sadness Paved - Released 24th August 2015

On the 24th of August 2015 Gloucester based Post Hardcore band Future Talk released their debut EP "The Path That Sadness Paved". The band consists of Alex Taylor (Vocals), Jay McQuilkin (Guitar), Jack Cadenhead (Guitar) and Max Elderfield (Drums).

The first track is "Sleeping Pills" with swirling guitars and an under current of throbbing bass and drums, topped off by lead singer Alex’s lush vocals are reminiscent FFAF at their most melodic.

“Shadow Poet” starts with a simple guitar line before more chugging guitars kick in; the whole track has a delicious tension building up to the release of the chorus. The band build a fair amount of complexity in to their atmospheric sound building layers and peeling them back to showcase some powerful riffs. The “The Cliffs As A Reminder” has an early Taking Back Sunday feel and is a rewarding slowburner of a track.

The EP ends of the “Fear Life” a dynamic song which switches from delicate delay laden guitar to pounding full band crescendo on a knife edge.  This is clearly just a teaser of a talented band who are shaping up to be a superb live proposition.

This EP is recommended for fans of The Used, Blitz Kids, Underoath and Mallory Knox. Check the guys out on Facebook here.

No comments:

Post a Comment